Tamale Pie

As it sometimes goes, I ended up with a recipe that while I am not sure it turned out as intended, it did taste really good.  I debated for a long time whether or not I should blog it, but with an enthusiastic 5 star review from my husband I decided in favor of sharing and just explaining my experience.

On the menu tonight was Tamale Pie.  I am also going to admit upfront that I don’t know if I have ever eaten a traditional tamale….. so I honestly can’t say how similar it is to the real thing.  My husband, however, has and he even made a comment that he enjoyed the cornbread over the traditional variation.  My issue tonight was definitely not with flavor, which was great, and very comforting, but rather with the texture of the cornbread.  It was just really soft, and almost mushy.  It could be as simple as just allowing it to cook longer initially (though I did make sure it was set up before pulling it out) or even using less enchilada sauce to keep a more firm texture.  Perhaps I was even wrong in my assumption that it should retain texture, since the idea IS to soak the enchilada sauce into it.  I do think it would be even better though with a more firm cornbread, or at least more presentable.

As I said the taste wasn’t compromised at all by the mushy cornbread, it just didn’t look very good on the plate lol.  In fact, I am including a shot of my slice for you, and you’ll see what I mean.  Because it was mushy on day one, I had feared it would be gross for leftovers, but by reheating it in a cake pan in the oven the next day (at 350, covered for first half) I was able to keep it from getting mushier and it tasted pretty much exactly the same on the second day.  I am sure you can use the microwave if you wanted, but I just really loathe what microwaves do to food lol.

Let’s quickly talk toppings… I think you can really go with whatever floats your boat so to speak.  I went with a chunky salsa, cilantro, black olives, sour cream, and green onions.  The recipe also says cheese of choice, but like the original blogger, I went with a sharp white cheddar.

_MG_0908-1 copy _MG_0915-2 copy

Tamale Pie

Cornbread Ingredients :

  • 1/2 C. cornmeal
  • 2/3 C. flour
  • 3 T. sugar
  • 1 T. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 3-4 T. oil (I used olive oil)
  • 1/3 C. milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 small can diced green chiles
  • 1 can creamed corn

Meat :

  • 1 lb. ground beeef
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1 tsp. chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper

Tamale Pie :

  • 1 1/4 C. enchilada sauce
  • 2 C. shredded cheese
  • toppings of choice

Directions :

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. Whisk together cornmeal, flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Add oil until soft crumbles form. Whisk in milk and egg. Gently fold in chiles and corn. Pour into greased baking pan (9×9, 9×13, large cast iron skillet). Bake until set, about 20-25 minutes.
  3. While cornbread is baking, combine beef with spices and sauté in a skillet over medium heat until fully cooked, about 10 minutes. Drain and set aside.
  4. Once cornbread is done baking, reduce oven to 350 degree F. Poke holes in cornbread with a fork and pour enchilada sauce over it. Top with ground beef and shredded cheese, and cover with aluminum foil. Bake in oven for 20 minutes. Remove foil and back until cheese begins to brown, about 5-10 minutes.
  5. Let cool for 10-15 minutes before serving with desired toppings.

Recipe from 2 Teaspoons

Published in: on January 29, 2015 at 7:00 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2015/01/29/tamale-pie/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

