Dijon Chicken Linguine with Crimini Mushrooms & Toasted Almonds

This was one of those recipes that had me drooling over my screen when I came across it while browsing for much healthier recipes.  I couldn’t help myself, and even though I knew it wasn’t low FODMAP (in fact with all that cream, garlic, pasta, and mushrooms it is anything BUT), I just didn’t care because it looked so dang good!  I decided to do my best and cut back where I could, but I figured this would be one of those “cheat” nights…. which really just means my stomach will give me hell which it did, but some days you just don’t care.  I cut out the garlic…. sad I know… and cut the cream in half and replaced the other with my fat free/lactose free milk.  It really didn’t seem to diminish the flavor whatsoever so that’s a plus, and I imagine it did a good job of cutting the calories and fat as well.  I REALLY enjoyed this meal, even though I was questioning my sanity shortly after when it starting causing me stomach troubles lol.

Fresh pasta is just so much better than it’s dried cousin.  So soft and delicious!  Top that off with some nice earthy mushrooms, perfectly toasted almonds, simply seasoned chicken and a luxuriously creamy dijon sauce and you have heaven on a plate in my opinion.  Perhaps it wasn’t even just the ingredients in this recipe that caused me so much trouble, but rather the insane amount that I consumed lol.

Other than the changes I already mentioned above, I only made a minor adjustment to the mushrooms.  Rather than only allowing them to simmer in the almost finished dish for a couple of minutes I knew I wanted them a bit more sauteed/soft, so after toasting my almonds I did just that and sauteed them in a bit of butter just for a couple minutes.  The picture that drew me in so easily also had some chives sprinkled on the final dish, and I even bought some for this purpose, but ended up forgetting them since they weren’t listed in the actual recipe.  Oh well… next time.  I did however whip up some crostini to go with this and it was PERFECT together.

Regarding the wine…. not being a connoisseur myself, I am always slightly annoyed when a recipe gives such general instruction such as “white wine” or “red wine”.  This was one of those recipes.  I didn’t really want a fruity wine, which I tend to gravitate towards for drinking when it comes to white wine so I was not sure what to get.  I settled on one that claimed to be crisp and balanced in flavor, as well as low calorie (always a plus lol).  The one I picked was called Skinny Girl California White, and I think it was a great choice for this dish!

Dijon Chicken Linguine with Crimini Mushrooms & Toasted Almonds

Serves : 4

Ingredients :

  • 350 g pkg. fresh linguine (Mine was something like 250g, just whatever I found at the store)
  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (I used 3 large breasts weighing about 1.5 lbs total)
  • 1 C. sliced crimini mushrooms
  • 3 T. olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced (I left this out)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 C. toasted slivered almonds
  • 4 oz. white wine (see note above)
  • 2 C. whipping cream (or like me half cream and half fat free milk)
  • 3 T. dijon (I suggest a nice coarse variety)
  • salt and pepper to season

Directions :

  1. If, like me, you would prefer softer mushrooms saute them for a minute or two before you get started after toasting your almonds, and set aside.
  2. Heat olive oil in a large heavy bottomed frying pan over medium low heat. Add chicken breasts, garlic, season with salt and pepper and continue to fry the chicken until completely cooked.  Remove chicken from pan and hold in a warm oven.
  3. Add white wine to pan, and deglaze.  Simmer until volume is reduced by half.
  4. Add cream, dijon, and salt and pepper.  Simmer until sauce thickens enough to coat a metal spoon.
  5. Return Chicken to the sauce, add the mushrooms and simmer for an additional 2 minutes.
  6. Serve over cooked linguine. Sprinkle with toasted slivered almonds.

Recipe from Rock Recipes

_MG_7566-1

Published in: on August 11, 2013 at 8:15 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://culinaryexplorer365.wordpress.com/2013/08/11/dijon-chicken-linguine-with-crimini-mushrooms-toasted-almonds/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment